The killer and my face, By Helena Santic Isakov translated with Charles Elffers

Crumbling into exile;

I recognized the murderer

who shot me in my face:

I drew his portrait

in memory of him;

I have no face,

but his face

is on my paper.

 

I have no money

for plastic surgery,

but my mother came

from far away

to see me; 10 years later.

she says: 

he should’ve killed you,

because you are no one.

 

Welcome

dearest

Mother,

I will never commit suicide

Because,

after all that,

I’ve got

a birth mark.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The killer and my face, By Helena Santic Isakov translated with Charles Elffers

    • Yes it was one of the great times of my life meeting up with Helena and her family I have not had time to email her yet, and will try and do so before I go away on holiday on Thursday. Best wishes and blessings Charles.

Leave a Reply

