Toe stubbing

I almost stubbed my toe

today when walking;

something I often used

to do when young,

as I am so interested

in the world around me,

that I do not look at

the ground where I am walking,

but am looking at the birds,

insects and other small animals,

or even the beauty of a plant in flower,

or a passing cloud,

or rainbow.

I remember when on the island

of Kos, after I had tripped

yet again, one of my companions

asked me if I had a nice trip,

I replied, I don’t know it has

only just begun.

Strange how such a slight thing

as stubbing the toe,

can bring back so many memories.

Leave a Reply

