Towards the morning.

Its hot and humid,

the brain is buzzing

the drums are rumbling

and cracking with a shiver of symbols,

as I dance along,

humming in my chair

and typing,

being taken back my youth

with the Cream playing Sleepy time time

with its slow melodic beat,

with the bass pumping,

rasping vocals cutting

the stagnant air, and

Eric Clapton’s guitar wailing over the top,

oh yeah, but the air is close,

the seat on which I sit is hard,

the morning beckons,

and the world out there

is dark and silent,

also sliding out of control

waiting for a change in heart

and a new direction towards

safety, tolerance and community.

6 thoughts on “Towards the morning.

    • Hi Aman, thanks for your wonderful comment, and thanks for reading and following. Sometimes late at night a piece of music simply takes over and becomes a poem, glad you liked it. I also blogged the piece of music. Liked your poem elementary school and could certainly identify with it, even though I left school about 40 years ago! Best wishes and blessings, Charles. 🙂

    • Hi Sylvia, thanks for the comment, I enjoyed writing this poem, it also took me back to my youth, I blogged the song on another blog, so you can re-listen to it as well. I loved all these bands and their music, I even played it, when I was in a band for a while. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

  1. There is always a conflict between our young and older selves. I have two me’s inside of me! I slip from one or the other when it suits me. Memories, especially of music can be very powerful! 🙂

    • Hi Suzy I missed this comment, sorry,but thanks for it, and yes there is this duality, and memories are always very powerful things, best wishes and blessings, Charles.

Leave a Reply

