Walking rhythms

Walking on the wild side,

alone with my thoughts,

greeting the few people

who came by,

exchanging smiles,

then looking in wonder

at the great mountains

surrounding us on three sides,

and all the different grasses,

the colors of leafs and flowers,

then the amazing sight of

proteas open in reds and whites,

and I am stupefied,

as I watch my footing

slowly moving on again,

and thinking why we

would want to harm

all this spender;

I walk on elated but saddened,

so I look up at the thin

sun, breath deeply,

and think of you

at home my dear,

which makes me feel

better, so walk faster,

getting into my rhythm

again, happier, smiling.

Leave a Reply

