Jay Heale, a special type of hero

Teachers come and go,

and then there are some that

really go the extra mile,

and are remembered for ever.

I was a tall gawky youngster,

struggling at school,

much picked on, teased, maligned,

by fellow students and teachers alike,

then there was an English teacher,

who also taught us history and biblical studies,

who took a great interest in me,

and tweaked my interest in research and writing

started me writing poetry,

and coming out of my shy

ghost like self into a more

concrete certain person, interested in many things:

Jay Heale, and I kept contact,

and when I got married he was my best man,

he helped many other children,

and runs a web site all about children’s literature,

which is followed and loved by people from all over the world.

Jay is a very special type of hero,

the type that we all need.

6 thoughts on “Jay Heale, a special type of hero

  1. I’m so glad you were blessed with the kind of teacher every child deserves! I too had a handful of spectacular educators, and I hope that I am now considered one myself! I would love to check out his children’s literature website. Could you please post the hyperlink? 🙂

    • It is wonderful that you had such a teacher, and great that you became a teacher, a very demanding job. Jays bookchat and web site are at http://www.bookchat.co.za/ I hope this is live, Having not grown up in the computer age, I’m a bit clumsy at these type of thing. Thanks, for the comment, best wishes and blessings, Charles.

  2. The teacher I will always remember was Miss Wolfe, my English teacher. She never gave tests except the required mid-terms and finals. She did require us to memorize phrases. To this day, I remember everything she taught in her class.
    It’s remarkable…the impact a good teacher can have on somebody, isn’t it?

    • Yes, I think good teachers are gems, and if one was lucky enough to have one then one certainly had a head start in life. I think many teaches are in their way hero’s, but they are not credited with the wonderful work they do, especially here in South Africa. Thanks for the comment, best wishes and blessings, Charles.

Leave a Reply

