Alzheimer’s Poem

15 thoughts on “Alzheimer’s Poem

  1. Thank you for sharing this poem. Busy Mind Thinking, who blogs at busymindthinking.com spoke on this topic today. It touched me dearly. Blessings and peace!

  2. I’ve seen this one before, my mom has Alzheimer’s and someone shared it with my family. I think it’s a great poem with a good sentiment, but I wouldn’t describe my mom as “sad and sick and lost”. She can get sad, sure, but we work hard to keep her smiling and laughing and she never feels lost in our home. As for sick, only in the sense that of course she has Alzheimer’s.

    • Hi Serena, thanks for the likes, flowing and comment. Sorry to hear your mom has Alzheimer’s, it seems, having known quite a lot of people suffering from this disease that each experience is a bit different, depending on all sorts of things, including how the family looks at it. I remember my grandfather talking with my sister and I, and reading us stories, and then just suddenly he would demand we leave, and start throwing things at us, so my father refused to let us see grandfather unless he was there in the room with us. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

      • Very true. My uncle refused to speak for the last year or so of his life. He was an English teacher so we thought maybe he did not want to communicate when he could no longer be eloquent in his words. My grandfather was like yours, making up stories and sometimes fits of rage. He would yell at us thinking we were touching his work when it was our school supplies and threw a chair at my brothers friend. My great-grandmother was so confused she would call my sister and I boys and she never knew where she was in the nursing home while my grandmother was much like my uncle becoming silent at the end. Such a heartbreaking disease.

      • Oh dear you certainly seem to have had more than your fair share of this disease to have to contend with, in our family we also had Parkinson’s disease, which is similar. I do hope things will go well for you and your mother. Have a great weekend, best wishes and blessings, Charles.

Leave a Reply

