The pianist

Timid notes tinkle,

clouds are heaving;

we listen and wait.

15 thoughts on “The pianist

    • Thanks it just grew from a little sead, and was finisher almost before I started it. I took a long time to find a suitable title for it though. Enjoyed your blog about getting back to writing, wonderful; think I can learn a few things from that, best wishes and blessings, Charles.

      • Oh man – I am exactly the opposite 🙂 I absolutely love haiku, but just cannot find the ability to say enough in so little words. It takes all kinds though – it adds to the beauty of the scenery!

      • Somehow I feel my poems that are shorter have a lot more punch, and the metaphors etc are tangible. I like writing longer poems as well, but do not think that their length makes them better poems. the short poems work very well when read allowed at a poetry reading, I find I get tongue tied when reading thew longer ones!

      • Oh, I agree. I absolutely love when I read others poetry like that. I try – and I always need one more line. I probably need to try a bit harder, but I also don’t want to change if that makes sense 🙂 Oh gosh – you are even brave enough for a poetry reading? I would trip all over myself 🙂

      • Actually a lot of my longer poems started out as Haiku, but needed an extra line and then another and then…. I believe in reading, as it is when one reads a poem allowed that one finds mistakes, as one instinctively stops for a moment at these places, so when I read I take a pencil up on stage with me, and make a mark at every stumbling point, so that I can rework the poem afterwards. For many years I ran writing groups at the libraries and for friends. My only rules were that everyone who came wrote something ,or drew something, and that the read or showed what they had written, and the third rule was more a dream for them, and that is to publish something, many did publish, and some are now highly awarded poets, out here.

      • I read all of my stuff – but in my head 🙂 That is why I need things to be a bit more quiet for me (if that is possible)… I read aloud for the kids, but have not done so with others. As loud as I may come across in print – I am social, but I am also shy underneath everything 🙂 Oh, wow. As I’ve said before, such amazing stories. Wish I had something like that here. I’m working on submitting a poetry book right now, which truly is a dream as well. Not sure if much will come of it, but it was a labor of love. It is for the Emily Dickinson Poetry Competition. If that doesn’t work out, I am thinking to seek to get it published first. Hoping self-publishing will be last on my list 🙂 It is never easy to believe in yourself enough to take that step, but I do know it is also necessary.

      • Best of luck with getting the poetry book published, and for the competition. I usually make the participants read aloud not only as a check on there work, but also to get them used to reading in public, as if a book of poems is published publishers like you to give reading at bookshops, writing clubs, universitied etc. and they sell your book at the event, so it is important to be able and used to reading in public. Also it is a way of getting known, if you go to readings, and read publishers are often there and get to hear and know your work. They are more likely to publish a poet that they have read, heard and liked, than one they do not know.

      • Thanks. You never know – but I feel proud of myself for at least trying. Not long ago, I definitely would not have. I can read outloud, but there just aren’t any opportunities that I have known about. I think I just may have to search for them.

Leave a Reply

